An IOIS Award named after Late Prof. David BenEzra and a Gold Medal are established to stimulate excellence in the field of Ocular Immunology and Inflammation and acknowledge the outstanding contributions to Science and to the Society. 

Suggestions for the Award and Medal nominations can be made by all IOIS Members in good standing.

The IOIS award will be provided every 2 years in a special ceremony at the International Meeting.

The Gold medal will be offered to a distinguished member of the Society or any other person related to the goals and scientific interest of the Society, to highlight the relevant actions and benefits that this person has provided to the Society. The mechanism for election will be different from the IOIS award, as this will be the only one responsibility of the Executive Board. A unanimous decision on the IOIS Gold medal is necessary to provide it to a distinguished nominated person.

List of Awardees for IOIS BenEzra Award:

  • Igal Gery 2000
  • Stephen Foster 2003
  • Narsing Rao 2005
  • Yvonne de Kozak 2007
  • Chi-Chao Chan 2009
  • John Forrester 2011
  • Manabu Mochizuki 2014
  • Carl Herbort 2015

List of Awardees for IOIS Gold Award

  • Jorge Alio 2014
  • Phuc Le Hoang 2015

Travel Fellowship(s)
Travel Fellowship(s) will be instituted for young active scientists and clinicians in training according to the financial situation of the Society. These fellowships can be initiated as a grant to cover the cost of travel to attend the IOIS Symposium only, or Hotel Accommodation during the IOIS Symposium only, or Symposium fees only, or any of the combinations which may be suitable.

Outstanding Nominations:
During the IOIS Symposium, the following outstanding nominations will be made:
• Most Innovative Oral Presentation
• Most Interesting Oral Presentation
• Best Poster Presentation

The selected First Authors of the above will receive an IOIS Certificate during a ceremony to take place within the ongoing Symposium and will be entitled to a “free registration” for the next IOIS Symposium.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software